Christians are TERRIBLE at nuance… – Part 3: The Problem has a REMEDY

Image result for questions"This is part 3 of a 3 part series.
Click here for Part 1
Click here for Part 2

We are BAD at nuance, but how do we fix it? Here’s a few questions to ask yourself before posting.

Haven I taken sufficient time to study and think?

There is no legion of adoring fans awaiting our responses. The issue might SEEM pressing, but there is time. Think. Pray. Consider the angles. My small group leader recently reminded me that it’s wise to consider something for at least 24 hours before responding, especially when you are emotional about the topic. Many topics will take much more time! Be patient and think.

Do I know what God’s Word has to say regarding this topic?

It just can’t go without saying; God has made Himself known to us through His word. When considering any topic, we have to ask ourselves “What has GOD said?” and “How clearly has He said it?” I believe what I believe about women elders simply because God’s word is so clear on the topic. I also have women leaders in my church because I see that in the Bible as well. But coming to those conclusions took time and study.

Have I talked to other people about this topic? More godly people? People different from me?

Have conversations with people older and wiser. Talk to people different from you; from different theological backgrounds, different journeys than your own, different genders and ethnicities. Have a balanced mind; one that is open to other view points, but never compromising your biblical convictions. Even if others don’t move you from your position, it will at least help you share your thoughts with more love and grace.

Am I honoring God with not only WHAT I’m saying but HOW I’m saying it?

but in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect,
1 Pet. 3:15

Someone once rightly said, “If you are RIGHT, but you are WRONG about the way you are right, you are still WRONG.” Remember, you are a wretch who deserves hell. If left to your own devises, your life would be shipwreck. You’re not wise enough. You’re not smart enough. And yet GOD loves you anyway! Let that humility and love guide your words and interactions.

CONCLUSION:

Nuance is needed. Wisdom demands it. Let’s slow down, think well, love well, and help one another grow in our understanding of God’s word and how it applies to real life.

Published by pastorhart

Husband,father, pastor...in that order. I'm a sinner saved, recluse redeemed, beggar bought, and a glutton glorified, all by GOD'S GRACE and THAT ALONE!

Leave a comment